+33 (0) 1 42 27 47 54
Conseil création parfum

Career in fragrance: the different jobs in the perfume industry

The creation of a perfume requires many steps, and therefore involves many different actors. The smell of a perfume comes to life in the perfumer’s head, its formula is created, reworked, refined, the packaging and the name are chosen, and a marketing plan put in place to ensure its good distribution. The main profession, well known to the general public, is the nose, also called perfumer. However, the perfume sector is made up of a wide variety of professions (and as many trainings to prepare for it).

After briefly discussing the motivations to become a perfumer during an interview with our founder Sylvie Jourdet, we will now go into more details and introduce you to the various professions of the perfume industry, the different courses and our tips for success.

So let’s start with the best-known profession, that of perfumer, also called perfume creator, creative perfumer or “nose”, whose main mission is to create a new perfume. The perfumer imagines a smell, develops it in his head and sets up his formulation. Highly developed olfactory senses and a passion for smells and aromas are qualities needed to succeed in finding a place in this coveted sector in France. The perfumer also runs a team of preparers and technicians, so good management skills are also required. At Créassence, Sylvie Jourdet holds this position and annually creates an average of 30 new fragrances for its various customers.

There are also several professions around the perfumer, each of which is crucial to the creation of a new perfume.

The assistant perfumer creates the formulas developed by the perfumer. He is also in charge of controlling the quality of the raw materials used and weighing them, scrupulously respecting the quantities indicated, as well as preparing samples for customers and managing the perfumer’s collection. Rigor, responsiveness and organization are mandatory skills to succeed in this position.

Another profession is that of the fragrance evaluators, who works hand in hand with the perfumer on several stages. They work together from the initial brief to the final creation, to ensure a clear understanding of the objectives and a consistent result. He must also be able to give useful and objective feedback on the creations to the perfumers. The fragrance evaluator is also in charge of bringing new ideas to develop the perfumer’s creativity. He plays an interface role between the marketing and sales department and the perfumer. He is up-to-date with fragrance trends and manages the internal perfume collection. He also works closely with the clients throughout their project, following the different steps and guiding them when they need to.

The best courses in France to prepare for the job of perfumer, assistant perfumer and evaluator are:

Creassence also offers bespoke trainings and consulting sessions.

The analysis and control technician (assisted by the laboratory technician) checks the composition of the products at each stage of their manufacture, carries out analysis or control measures in order to check the conformity of the products, their physico-chemical quality, their stability, etc. These steps are very important in perfume creation to ensure that the perfume is compliant with the rules and can be marketed. Chemistry is a dominant part of this profession (the most frequent courses being BTS chemistry) but rigor, method and organization as well as good laboratory practices are also necessary.

Production, sourcing raw materials and quality control are steps that we do not necessarily think about but that once again play an important role.

The people in charge of sourcing raw materials travel the world in search of new plants worthy of giving us their precious essences, while the R&D researchers in their laboratories develop new molecules with original olfactory qualities but also and above all always healthier and harmless. To ensure safety in the use of products our industry is recruiting more and more quality controllers, regulatory and safety managers.

Finally, the perfume industry like many other industries, needs sales teams and marketing strategies to help the distribution of finished products, perfumes, and create a true brand identity around each creation. These professions are those of communication and marketing, very important to establish the perfume and the brand, and make it attractive for the end consumer. A sales team is then responsible for distributing the products throughout the most suitable distribution channels (perfumery, supermarket, department store, etc.). The network managers animate these various sales points and ensure the proper implementation of marketing actions.

Our team of experts Créassence:

  • Sylvie Jourdet, Creative Perfumer and Creative Director
  • Marie de Miollis, Commercial and Development Manager
  • Aliyah Abou Abid, Assistant Perfumer, Laboratory Manager

Surrounded by the best experts in their fields to help us create and produce your custom-made fragrance:

  • Patty Canac, évaluatrice, experte en parfums : olfarom
  • Pauline Ghislain, directrice artistique freelance Paulineghislain
  • Alice Rivier, stratégie marketing et communication amcrmanagement

And many others…

Laisser un commentaire

+33 (0) 1 42 27 47 54
Conseil création parfum

Les métiers du parfum

La création d’un parfum requiert de nombreuses étapes, et donc la participation de nombreux acteurs. L’odeur d’un parfum naît, sa formule est créée, retravaillée, peaufinée, le packaging et le nom sont choisis, et un plan marketing mis en place pour en assurer sa bonne distribution. Le principal métier, bien connu du grand public, est celui de nez, aussi appelé parfumeur. Cependant, le secteur de la parfumerie est composé d’une grande variété de métiers (et d’autant de formations pour s’y préparer).

Après avoir brièvement évoqué les motivations pour devenir parfumeur lors d’une interview avec notre fondatrice Sylvie Jourdet, nous allons maintenant rentrer plus en détails et vous présenter les différents métiers de l’industrie du parfum, les formations ainsi que nos conseils pour réussir.

Commençons donc par le métier le plus connu, celui de parfumeur, aussi appelé créateur de parfum, parfumeur créateur ou encore « nez », dont la mission principale est de créer un nouveau parfum. Le parfumeur imagine une odeur et met en place sa formulation. Des sens olfactifs très développés et une passion pour les odeurs et les arômes sont des qualités nécessaires pour réussir à se faire une place dans ce secteur si convoité en France. Le parfumeur dirige également une équipe de préparateurs et techniciens, des capacités managériales sont donc requises. Chez Créassence, Sylvie Jourdet occupe cette fonction et crée chaque année en moyenne 30 nouveaux parfums pour répondre aux demandes des divers clients.

Il existe ensuite plusieurs métiers s’articulant autour du parfumeur, chacun étant cruciaux à la création d’un nouveau parfum.

L’assistant parfumeur réalise les formules élaborées par le parfumeur. Il est également en charge de contrôler la qualité des matières premières utilisées et de les peser, en respectant scrupuleusement les quantités indiquées, ainsi que de préparer les échantillons destinés aux clients et gérer la collection du parfumeur. De la rigueur, réactivité et organisation sont nécessaires afin de réussir dans ce métier.

Une autre profession est celle de l’évaluateur, qui accompagne le parfumeur sur plusieurs étapes. Ils travaillent ensemble depuis le brief initial jusqu’à la création finale, afin de s’assurer d’une parfaite compréhension des objectifs et d’un résultat cohérent. L’évaluateur est également en charge d’amener de nouvelles idées afin de développer la créativité du parfumeur. Il joue un rôle d’interface entre le service marketing et commercial et le parfumeur, tout en gérant la collection de parfums. Il suit et anticipe les tendances olfactives et accompagne les clients dans leur projet, les accompagnant dans leur réflexion tout en prenant en compte leurs remarques et changements.

Les meilleures formations en France pour se préparer aux métiers de parfumeur, assistant parfumeur et évaluateur sont :

Créassence propose également des formations « techniques » et sessions de consulting afin d’apporter des compétences nouvelles à votre expertise.

Le technicien d’analyses et de contrôle (aidé par le laborantin) vérifie la composition des produits à toutes les phases de leur fabrication, effectue des analyses ou des mesures de contrôle afin de vérifier la conformité des produits, leur qualité physico-chimique, leur stabilité, etc. Ces étapes sont très importantes dans la création d’un parfum, afin de s’assurer que celui-ci est conforme aux règles et peut être commercialisé. La chimie est une partie dominante de ce métier (les formations les plus fréquentes étant des BTS chimie) mais des qualités de rigueur, de méthode et d’organisation ainsi que des bonnes pratiques en laboratoire sont également nécessaires.

La production, le sourcing des matières premières et le contrôle qualité sont des étapes auxquelles nous ne pensons pas nécessairement mais qui une fois de plus jouent un rôle important.

Les sourceurs parcourent le monde à la recherche des nouvelles plantes prêtes à nous livrer leurs précieuses essences tandis que les chercheurs R&D dans leurs laboratoires développent de nouvelles molécules aux qualités olfactives originales mais aussi et surtout toujours plus saines et inoffensives. Pour assurer la sécurité dans l’usage des produits notre industrie recrute de plus en plus de contrôleurs en qualité, de responsables règlementaire et sécurité.

Enfin, l’industrie du parfum comme beaucoup d’autres, a besoin de forces de ventes et de stratégies marketing afin d’aider à la distribution des produits finis, les parfums, et de créer une véritable identité de marque autour de chaque création. Ces métiers sont ceux de la communication et du marketing, très importants afin de positionner le parfum et de le rendre attractif pour le consommateur final. Une équipe de commerciaux se charge ensuite de distribuer les produits dans les circuits de distributions les plus adaptés (parfumerie, grande surface, grand magasin, etc). Les responsables réseaux eux animent ces différents points de vente et s’assurent de la bonne mise en place des actions marketing.

Notre équipe d’expertes Créassence

  • Sylvie Jourdet, parfumeur créateur, directrice de la création
  • Marie de Miollis, responsable commerciale et développement
  • Aliyah Abou, assistante parfumeur, responsable du laboratoire

S’entoure des meilleurs spécialistes pour créer et produire votre parfum entièrement sur mesure :

  • Patty Canac, évaluatrice, experte en parfums : olfarom
  • Pauline Ghislain, directrice artistique freelance Paulineghislain
  • Alice Rivier, stratégie marketing et communication amcrmanagement

Et bien d’autres…

Laisser un commentaire