+33 (0) 1 42 27 47 54
Conseil création parfum

Niche perfumery: an art perfumery?

Some call it niche perfumery, artistic or artisanal perfumery, Haute-Parfumerie, confidential perfumery, independent perfumery, author’s perfumery … What definition is hidden behind these appellations? Do they all refer to the same concept, the same philosophy, the same type of distribution, the same stores, the same services offered? Our answer is a mixed yes, a yes that includes and many nuances and paraphrases.

At the beginning, 20 years ago, the term niche mainly referred to companies operating a “confidential” distribution. A confidential distribution, of course, but also and above all intimate places, apparently often considered elitist, but much more welcoming and warm than most mass-market perfumeries.

The consumers of this so-called niche perfumery are often more knowledgeable.

The perfumers creators are at the forefront of the brand, often put forward, enjoying the pleasure of expressing themselves in full freedom.

The teams are simplified, meaning that in the majority of cases, the artistic director works directly with the perfumer and therefore assumes the role of evaluator (this intellectual and technical tandem will bear fruit in the form of a beautiful perfume).

The raw materials used are of high quality, and the marketing budget deployed ensures high brand visibility (advertising, muse, …).

The staff are competent, expert in perfumery, and the sales teams are qualified, trained, key advisers who play an important role in the purchasing decision, interlocutors in the image of the brand.

But what does niche perfumery means nowadays, and how has it evolved?

A number of pioneering brands have been bought by large groups and have won a place of honour in the fine stores of “Belle Parfumerie”. As a result, niche perfumery has seen the birth, flourish and proliferation of many brands of “author’s perfumes”, “artisanal perfumes”, with a rare, exclusive, independent positioning …

Two exhibitions are dedicated to this trend: Excence (the 12th edition should have been held next April in Milan, but has been postponed to February 2021) and Fragranze (17th edition in September 2020 in Florence).

The question then arises of so-called “classic” brands, have they stayed to watch this phenomenon? No, of course, almost all of them have also added, alongside their mainstream perfumes, an “haute-parfumerie” collection, or “exclusive” collections, made of high-end perfumes… The difference can be seen once again in the choice of selective distribution, in the price, in the packaging, in the quality of the raw materials used in the formula and in the inspirations, which pay homage to the heritage of the house or perfumer.

What are the places where we can find the perfumes we just talked about?

In independent stores (in Paris, a very high concentration can be found in the Marais where you could go for scented strolls), in luxury boutiques (displaying their perfumes alongside clothing and leather goods), in luxury or trendy concept stores, in department stores and multi-brand boutiques that have the privilege of offering you an excellent quality service.

What is niche for us?

It is a balance between neo-classicism (return to virtue, beautiful raw materials, architecture of the formula) and modernity (inspiration and unexpected marriages, innovative and shocking raw materials) and with the wish that modernity today will become the classic of tomorrow.

Born at the same time as the niche perfumery, Créassence has always had at heart to support all these new brands by understanding their DNA and creating for them exclusive, daring, high-end perfumes, meeting their expectations and brand identity.

We have worked with many niche brands, for which we have developed one or more perfumes. We invite you to visit their online stores (while waiting for some of them, the physical reopening).

AU FIL DU TEMPS

Brand of niche perfumes looking for the link between the spectacle of odours and their effects on what binds us to the world.

Website: http: //aufildutemps.co/

THE BURREN PERFUMERY

Irish handcrafted brand that tells the story of a family and their love for the nature around them.

Website: https://burrenperfumery.com/

MAITRES PARFUMEURS ET GANTIERS

Superb timeless French brand that tells tradition, beauty and heritage since 1988.

Website: https://www.maitre-parfumeur-et-gantier.com/

TOLA

Tola is an Emirati niche perfume brand created in 2010 by Dhaher Bin Dhaher. Tola is the epitome of memories; stories in stories …

Website: https://shop.villa515.com/en/

HISTOIRES DE PARFUMS

Perfumes by authors who tell stories inspired by characters, raw materials and mythical years.

Website: https://www.histoiresdeparfums.com/

SPREKENHUS

Norwegian niche brand, with sleek packaging which has the mission to manufacture products without any compromise.

Website: https://sprekenhus.com/en

Laisser un commentaire

+33 (0) 1 42 27 47 54
Conseil création parfum

Parfumerie de niche : une parfumerie d’art ?

Parfumerie de niche, artistique ou artisanale, ou bien encore Haute-Parfumerie, parfumerie confidentielle, parfumerie indépendante, parfumerie d’auteur…

Quelle définition se cache derrière ces appellations ? S’agit-il toujours du même concept, de la même philosophie, du même type de distribution , du même service proposé ?

Nous vous répondons avec un oui mitigé, un oui qui inclut beaucoup de nuances et de paraphrases.

Au début, il y à 20 ans, le terme niche signifiait surtout distribution confidentielle.

Un distribution confidentielle certes, mais aussi et surtout des lieux intimes, souvent considérés comme élitistes, mais bien plus accueillants que la plupart des parfumeries mass-market.

Les consommateurs de cette parfumerie dite de niche sont souvent plus connaisseurs.

Les créateurs parfumeurs quant à eux sont très présents, mis en avant, et retrouvent le plaisir de s’exprimer en pleine liberté.

Les équipes sont plus « simplifiées » où, dans la majorité des cas, le directeur artistique travaille directement avec le parfumeur et donc assume le rôle d’évaluateur (ce tandem intellectuel et technique portera ses fruits sous la forme d’un beau parfum).

Les matières premières sont de haute-qualité, et le budget marketing déployé assure une grande visibilité (publicité, égérie, …).

Le personnel est compétent, expert dans la parfumerie, et les équipes de ventes sont à l’écoute, des conseillers qui jouent un rôle important dans la décision d’achat, des interlocuteurs à l’image de la marque.

Mais qu’en est-il de nos jours, et comment a évolué la parfumerie de niche ?

Un certain nombre de marques pionnières ont été rachetées par des grands groupes et ont gagné une place d’honneur dans les beaux magasins de la « Belle Parfumerie ». De ce fait, la parfumerie de niche a vu naître, fleurir et se multiplier de nombreuses marques de « parfums d’auteurs », « parfums artisanaux », au positionnement rare, exclusif, indépendant…

Deux salons sont consacrés à ce phénomène : Excence (la 12ème édition aurait dû se tenir en avril prochain à Milan, mais a été reporté à février 2021) et Fragranze (17ème édition en septembre 2020 à Florence).

Se pose alors la question des marques dites « classiques », sont-elles restées à regarder ce phénomène ? Non, bien sûr, la quasi-totalité d’entre elles ont elles aussi ajouté, à côté de leur parfums « mainstream », des collections « haute-parfumerie », collections « exclusives », « parfums haut-de gamme » … La différence s’observe une fois de plus dans le choix d’une distribution sélective, dans le prix, dans le packaging, dans la qualité des matières premières utilisées dans la formule et dans les inspirations, qui rendent hommage à l’héritage de la maison ou de la parfumerie.

Quels sont les lieux où nous pouvons trouver les parfums dont nous venons de parler ?

Dans les boutiques de marque en nom propre (à Paris, une très haute concentration dans le Marais où vous pourriez faire des balades parfumées), dans les boutiques de luxe, qui exposent leurs parfums à coté de vêtement et maroquinerie, dans les concept-store raffinés ou très branchés, dans les grands magasins et les boutiques multi marques qui ont le privilège de vous offrir un service d’excellente qualité.

Et pour nous c’est quoi la niche ?

C’est un équilibre entre néo-classicisme (retour à la vertu, belles matières premières, architecture de la formule) et modernité (inspiration et mariages inattendus, matières premières innovantes et choquantes) et avec le souhait que la modernité d’aujourd’hui deviendra le classique de demain.

Née en même temps que la parfumerie de niche, Créassence a toujours eu à cœur d’accompagner toutes ces nouvelles marques en comprenant leur ADN et leur créant des parfums exclusifs, audacieux, haut de gamme, correspondant à chacune de leurs attentes.

Nous avons travaillé avec de nombreuses marques de niche, pour lesquelles nous avons développé un ou plusieurs parfums. Nous vous invitons à visiter leurs boutiques en ligne (en attendant pour certaines parmi d’elles, la réouverture physique).

AU FIL DU TEMPS

Marque de parfums de niche à la recherche du lien entre le spectacle des odeurs et leurs effets sur ce qui nous lie au monde.

Site internet: http://aufildutemps.co/

BURREN PARFUMER

Marque irlandaise artisanale, qui raconte l’histoire d’une famille et de son amour pour la nature qui les entoure.

Site internet: https://burrenperfumery.com/

MAITRES PARFUMEURS ET GANTIERS

Superbe marque française hors du temps qui raconte tradition, beauté et héritage depuis le 1988.

Site internet: https://www.maitre-parfumeur-et-gantier.com/fr/

TOLA

Tola est une marque de parfums de niche émirati créée en 2010 par Dhaher Bin Dhaher.
Tola est la quintessence des souvenirs ; d’histoires dans les histoires…

Site internet: https://shop.villa515.com/en/

HISTOIRES DE PARFUMS

Parfums d’auteurs qui racontent des histoires inspirées personnages, de matières premières et d’années mythiques.

Site internet: https://www.histoiresdeparfums.com/

SPREKENHUS

Marque de niche norvégienne, avec un packaging épuré qui a la mission de fabriquer des produits sans aucun compromis.

Site internet: https://sprekenhus.com/

Laisser un commentaire