+33 (0) 1 42 27 47 54
Conseil création parfum

The scents of spring

Spring is finally here: nature seems to have woken up gradually from its long winter sleep and flowers start spreading their colours, and their smells.

Spring is a season much appreciated by perfumers who are inspired by the scents of all these flowers for the numerous perfumes they create.

At Créassence, we work a lot around flowers. We select the best qualities of essences and absolutes from all over the world to integrate them into our creations.

Rose

Fleur du printempsIt is considered the Queen of Flowers. Rose is a symbol of femininity and elegance, which is why it is often considered as a feminine note in Western countries. However, in the Middle East, it is also very popular amongst men, and used in masculine perfumes. There are two varieties of roses, both appreciated by perfumers. The Rose Centifolia also called Rose de Mai, comes mainly from Grasse, and is the rarest and most expensive type. The Rose Damascena comes from Turkey or Bulgaria.

The flower has a sweet and delicate smell, whereas the essential oil extracted from the Rose surprises with its liveliness and power, and its absolute is more round and honeyed. The Rose is a key material for perfumers who are often put it forward in their creations.

For example, the Chloé Eau de Parfum is based on a powdery rose that is both delicate and elegant.

It is at the heart of the perfume created specifically for the city of Chartres, which recalls the beauty and elegance of this city.

Jasmine

Les senteurs du jasminMainly found in India, Egypt and southern France, this small white flower represents love and sensuality. In Tunisia, people offer white jasmine as a proof of love. It is also the emblematic flower of the country. Its absolute, which has a fruity scent, solar, animal and sensual, is very popular in perfumery. Jasmine is a very luxurious raw material because of its low yield. Indeed 7 million flowers are needed for the production of one kilogram of Jasmine extract which explains its very high price.

Orange blossom

Les senteurs de la fleur d'orangerHarvested mainly in Morocco and Tunisia, this small flower was particularly popular in the time of Louis XIV. It can be extracted in many ways. Its absolute has a sweet, waxy, orange and animal smell. Its essential oil, which is called Neroli in reference to Princess Nerola, has a greener, more citrus and fresh smell.

 

The Orange Blossom is sublimated in the brand new Flower by Kenzo Eau de Vie perfume created by the famous Alberto Morillas.

Perfumers appreciate it especially for its dual personality, both innocent and sensual. It is mainly with its soothing and sweet aspect that we have worked to create Plume d’Oranger fom Guêpes et Papillons.

Iris

Les senteurs de la fleur irisGrown mainly in Morocco and Italy, the fragrance is extracted from the rhizome. It gives off a powdery, woody, dry smell of violet. While most flower extracts are usually quite expensive, the iris can reach 50 000 € / kg.

In Dior Homme, the perfumer Olivier Polge highlights its absolute, combined with Vetiver, for a woody, powdery and green finish.

Tuberose

Les senteurs de la fleur tubéreuseAlso very expensive, this heady white flower grown in India has a powerful floral and mysterious scent. Dior puts this plant in the spotlight in its fragrance Poison, associated with Sandalwood and Patchouli.

Gérald Ghislain loved this flower so much that he created a trilogy of fragrances around it for his brand Histoires de Parfums.

 

Ylang Ylang

This small yellow flower is mainly found in Madagascar and Reunion Island. Known for its relaxing and regenerating virtues, it is highly appreciated by perfumers. It is by fractional distillation that an extract is obtained, the price of which varies greatly according to the different fractions. Often associated with monoï, Ylang Ylang owes its success to its solar, milky and fruity scent. It is used to give character to a fragrance and frequently found in exotic and summer fragrances.

The Yves Saint Laurent Scénario d’Eté perfume is a good example of a fragrance based on Ylang Ylang.

We find this beautiful warmed flower with amber notes in the last perfume we created for the blue collection of Histoires de Parfums.

 

Other flowers such as Geranium, Magnolia, Champaca, Broom … can also be extracted. However, while many flowers give off a powerful and delicious scent, very few of them let us extract it. A large part of the flowers are said to be “mute” and force perfumers to replace them with synthetic molecules. We work, for example on a Lily of the valley with hydroxycitronellal, on a Violet with ionones and a Freesia scent with linalool.

Spring also brings the smell of fresh and green notes that unfortunately cannot be obtained naturally. Chemists have therefore synthesized several molecules including cis 3 hexenol, which smell reminds of freshly cut grass, stemone that reminds the smell of fig tree, and triplal which smells of flower stalk.

Laisser un commentaire

+33 (0) 1 42 27 47 54
Conseil création parfum

Les senteurs du printemps

Lorsque le printemps arrive, la nature semble se réveiller peu à peu de son long sommeil d’hiver et les fleurs y répandent leurs couleurs, et leurs odeurs !

Le printemps est une saison très appréciée des parfumeurs qui s’inspirent des senteurs de toutes ces fleurs pour leurs créations.

Chez Créassence, nous travaillons beaucoup autour des fleurs. Nous sélectionnons les meilleures qualités d’essences et d’absolues du monde entier pour les intégrer dans nos créations.

La Rose

Elle est considérée comme la Reine des fleurs. La Rose est symbole de féminité et d’élégance c’est pourquoi elle est souvent considérée comme une note féminine dans les pays Occidentaux. Cependant, au Moyen Orient, elle est très prisée par les hommes. Il en existe deux variétés, toutes deux prisées par les parfumeurs. La Rose Centifolia aussi appelée Rose de Mai qui vient essentiellement de Grasse est la plus rare et cher. La Rose Damascena quant à elle vient de Turquie ou de Bulgarie.

Alors que la fleur a une odeur douce et délicate, l’huile essentielle extraite de la Rose surprend sa vivacité et sa puissance, tandis que son absolue est plus ronde et miellée. La Rose est une matière clef pour les parfumeurs qui l’ont souvent mise en avant dans leurs créations.

Pour exemple, l’eau de parfum Chloé est centré sur une rose poudrée à la fois délicate et élégante.

Elle est au cœur du parfum que nous avons créé spécifiquement pour la ville de Chartres, qui rappelle la beauté et l’élégance de cette cité.

Le Jasmin

Principalement cultivée en Inde, en Egypte et dans le sud de la France, cette petite fleur blanche symbolise l’amour et la sensualité. En Tunisie, on s’offre du Jasmin Blanc comme preuve d’amour et c’est la fleur emblématique du pays. Son absolue, à l’odeur fruitée, solaire, animale et sensuelle, est très prisée en parfumerie. Le jasmin est une matière première très luxueuse en raison de son faible rendement. En effet 7 millions de fleurs sont nécessaires pour la production d’un kilogramme d’extrait de Jasmin ce qui explique son prix très élevé.

La fleur dOranger

Récoltée principalement au Maroc et en Tunisie, cette petite fleur était particulièrement appréciée à l’époque de Louis XIV. Elle peut être extraite de plusieurs manières. Son absolue a une odeur sucrée, cireuse, orangée et animale. Son huile essentielle, que l’on appelle Néroli en référence à la princesse Nérola, a quant à elle une odeur plus verte, plus héspéridée et fraiche.

La fleur d’Oranger est entre autres sublimée dans le tout nouveau parfum Flower by Kenzo Eau de Vie créé par le célèbre Alberto Morillas.

Les parfumeurs l’apprécient notamment pour sa double personnalité à la fois innocente et sensuelle. C’est plutôt sur sa première facette apaisante et douce que nous avons travaillé Plume d’Oranger de Guêpes et Papillons

LIris 

Cultivée essentiellement au Maroc et en Italie, on extrait sa fragrance à partir du rhizome. Elle dégage une odeur poudrée, boisée, sèche de violette. Alors que les extraits de fleurs sont généralement assez couteux, celui d’iris est peut lui atteindre 50 000 €/kg.

Dans Dior Homme, le parfumeur Olivier Polge met en avant l’absolue d’Iris associée au Vétiver pour un rendu boisé, poudré et vert.

La tubéreuse

Egalement très onéreuse, cette fleur blanche capiteuse cultivée en Inde à une odeur puissamment florale et mysté Dior met cette plante à l’honneur dans son parfum Poison , associée entre autre au bois de Santal et au Patchouli.

Gérald Ghislain aimait tellement cette fleur qu’il a créé une trilogie autour d’elle pour sa marque Histoires de parfums.

LYlang Ylang

On trouve principalement cette petite fleur jaune dans à Madagascar et sur l’île de la Ré Connue pour ces vertus relaxantes et régénérantes, elle est très appréciée des parfumeurs. C’est par distillation fractionnée qu’on obtient un extrait dont le prix varie beaucoup selon les différentes fractions. Souvent associé au monoï, l’Ylang Ylang doit son succès à son odeur solaire, lactée et fruitée. On l’utilise pour donner du caractère à un parfum et fréquemment dans des fragrances exotiques et d’été.

Le parfum d’Yves Saint Laurent Cinéma Scénario d’été est un bon exemple de fragrance centrée autour de l’Ylang Ylang.

On retrouve cette magnifique fleur réchauffée de notes ambrées dans le dernier parfum tout naturel que nous avons créé pour la collection bleue d’Histoires de Parfums

 

D’autres fleurs comme le Géranium, le Magnolia, le Champaca, le Genêt …peuvent aussi être extraites.

Cependant, alors que beaucoup de fleurs dégagent une odeur puissante et délicieuse, très peu d’entre elles nous laissent l’extraire. Une grande partie des fleurs sont dites « muettes » et obligent les parfumeurs à les remplacer par des molécules de synthèse. On travaille par exemple un accord Muguet avec de l’hydroxycitronellal, la Violette avec des ionones et le Freesia avec du linalol.

Le printemps amène avec lui des effluves de notes fraîches et vertes qui ne peuvent malheureusement pas être obtenues naturellement. Les chimistes en ont donc synthétisé plusieurs dont le cis 3 hexenol, dont l’odeur rappelle le gazon fraichement coupé, et la stémone qui sent la feuille de figuier, et le triplal aux notes de tige de fleur.

Laisser un commentaire